Blog 3

Big shocker! Alex G was not at all available, in fact, his management team did not even respond. This wasn’t unexpected, as I know that he is a largely famous musician that is about to embark on a national tour. So I have decided to look into the next best thing: local music stores and musicians in the Tampa DIY music scene. I reached out to Sound Exchange, A CD and record store on Nebraska Avenue with modern and classic albums, band merchandise, and eclectic decor. They have been a staple for my personal CD collection, as well as somewhere I enjoy going to just to wander around and find new things. The bands I will be interviewing are Sorry Barb, a self-described “Love letter and a hit list all at once, signed with a sax solo and stamped with maternal kitsch”, Kick Veronica, a new queer punk band that is quickly gaining popularity, and In The Pocket, a jazz band with many members that either go to HCC now or are alumni. Their input as musicians is crucial for the music scene in Tampa to continue to grow, and I would be very proud to be someone who is able to spread their messages. Small music businesses and local bands are such a huge part of what makes Tampa so unique and it is time that people pay more attention.

Questions for Sound Exchange Management:

  • “This location is the original Sound Exchange, opening in November of 1987, how does it feel to have lasted that long with the rise in popularity of digital music?”
  • “Why do you feel that it is important to keep physical copies of music, such as CDs, Records, and Tapes alive?”

Questions for Employees:

  • “This store has such a massive collection of music, what is your personal favorite album, CD, Tape, or Vinyl, in the store?”
  • “How is this job different from your other places of employment? What do you think it brings to the table that other retail jobs do not?”

Questions for Sorry Barb:

  • “Your music has such an eclectic and nostalgic feel to it, who are some of your biggest inspirations?”
  • “I really enjoy your song ‘Take It From Me’, what was the inspiration behind it?

Questions for Kick Veronica

  • “You guys are a relatively new fixture in the music scene here, how did the band start, and who were the founding members?”
  • “You’re known for very socially charged lyrics as well as supporting local causes such as the Tampa Bay Abortion Fund, why do you feel that it is important to spread a message as artists?

Questions for In The Pocket

  • “A large number of your members are students or recent graduates of HCC, did you form here? If so, how did it come about?”
  • “You play both covers and original songs, what is your favorite song to cover? What is your favorite original?

Sound Exchange on Nebraska Avenue, Credit: Facebook
Sorry Barb, Credit: Facebook
Kick Veronica, Credit: Instagram
In The Pocket, Credit: Instagram


3 responses to “Blog 3”

  1. Hi, Morgan. This is a really creative idea that you came up with, and once again I think it helps get the word out on these aspiring musicians. I think trying to interview employees from record stores and local musicians is a neat idea, as it’s a good way to still report on something relating to your passions, while also still taking into account your location and the limitations that you have in regards to who you can interview. The bands you listed all sound really unique, and the questions you have lined up definitely sound like things that are specific to the musicians in question. I hope your interview does well, and I also have to thank you for introducing me to these artists who I probably wouldn’t have heard about otherwise (I might even listen to them after this).

    Like

  2. Hey Morgan. This is going to be a really good story. I think it is really important to support local music and I love that your using this class to do that. I think your questions are perfect and I am very interested to learn about the unique bands you chose to interview.

    Like

  3. Hi Morgan. Your use of voice in your blog makes this very fun to read. I hope this works out for you and you can interview someone in this area. You have great questions which I hope, even if they don’t respond, that later you get the answers and can continue your idea. I’m sure them being on tour doesn’t help but in the future I hope they reach out! Good luck, I’m excited to see where you go with it now and how you overcome this problem.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started